Willie Thorne was wrong to criticise Jan Verhaas, the referee for the Mark Allen v Ryan Day match at the Masters last night, for calling a miss on Day in the last frame.
Day was snookered behind the green and got very close to hitting one of the six reds.
Because he was close, Thorne asserted in BBC commentary that Jan should not have called a miss.
Of course he should. Nowhere in the rules does it state that getting close is the key factor. Day played on that particular red because he was trying not to leave a red on for Allen.
It was relatively easy to hit one of the reds, therefore Jan was correct.
I know from talking to the refs that they get very frustrated when commentators question decisions that they make when all they are doing is applying the rules.
It leads viewers who don't know any better to conclude that they can't do their jobs.