A strange incident in last week's Welsh Open has been brought to my attention.
In the third frame of his match against Stephen Maguire, Ding Junhui appears to pot two reds in succession - that is without potting a colour in between.
You can view the footage here.
There has been speculation on the internet that the video has been faked. However, I have watched the original and unedited BBC footage of the frame and it is genuine. Indeed, it was logged at the time by a member of the production team.
Ultimately, no harm was done. Although Ding won the frame he lost the match.
Maguire had no reason to spot it. The non-striker is waiting to come back to the table, not intently following every shot.
The referee, Colin Humphries, can be forgiven for making a mistake. Who amongst us does not?
What I find odd is that Ding himself lost concentration to the extent that he forgot he was on the black.
A weird business, then, and proof that, in the internet age, there's always someone out there who will spot these things.